Attention: The DACA program was canceled on September 5, 2017. However, as a result of lawsuits, the US government is currently accepting renewal DACA applications only. Please contact us if you have questions about the current status of DACA or other immigration options that may be available to you.

DACA, which stands for Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals, is a temporary form of relief from deportation. It is intended for those who were brought to the United States by their parents at a young age and call this country home, but are unable to participate fully in US society because of their immigration status. You may be eligible for DACA if you meet the following requirements:

  1. You were born after June 15, 1981.
  2. You came to the United States before you turned 16.
  3. You have been living permanently in the United States since before June 15, 2007.
  4. You were physically present in the United States and did not have any lawful immigration status on June 15, 2012.
  5. You have not committed a felony, a significant misdemeanor, or any three misdemeanors.
  6. You have completed high school or earned a GED, or are currently attending school.
  7. You are at least 15 years old at the time of filing your DACA application.

As an applicant, the burden is on you to prove to the government that you meet the above requirements with adequate supporting documentation. If your DACA application is successful, you will receive protection from deportation and work authorization for two years. Your DACA may be renewed toward the end of the two-year period.

DACA recipients may also apply for permission to travel outside the US for a limited period of time, by requesting Advance Parole from US Citizenship and Immigration Services. In order to succeed in obtaining Advance Parole, you must have a compelling reason to travel (usually for a specific educational, employment-related, or humanitarian purpose) and back up your reason with supporting documentation.

Please note: The expansion of DACA announced by President Barack Obama as an Executive Order in 2014 is not currently in effect. Only those applicants who meet the above-listed requirements qualify for the program right now.

The DAPA program, which was also announced by President Obama in 2014, is also not in effect.

"Hannah is a true gift."

“She helped my husband and I through the entire immigration process before our wedding. Hannah is extremely professional but equally personable, qualities that were so valued during this stressful time.”

— J.T.

"She was very thorough."

“My employer sent me to the USA to gain experience in the US market. Hannah did a great job setting up all the documents that were necessary for the authorities to grant me a visa. I can recommend her without reservation.”

— S.K.

"I wouldn't do it without her."

“Hannah is a very professional and experienced immigration lawyer. Her passion for helping people reflects in every case she handles. She pays close attention to details, which was important in my application. I was very fortunate to have found her.”

— M.W.

Contact us for more information.

Vigoda Law Firm, 1110 Wake Forest Road, Raleigh, NC 27604    Tel: 919.307.7817    Email: